About Deleting a Site
If you no longer need a site or want to migrate it from Shifter, you can delete it.
However, please review the following points before proceeding.
- This action will permanently delete the site and all associated data. It cannot be undone, and the data cannot be recovered.
- The site will be deleted, but you can continue to use your Shifter account. If you want to delete all your sites and close your account, see How to Delete Your Shifter Account.
Steps to Delete a Site on Shifter
1. Log in to the Shifter dashboard.
2. From the site list, click “Open Admin Panel” for the site you want to delete.
3. Delete the associated domain.
If you see an error message saying “Failed to delete the site,” please perform the following steps before deleting the site.
From the “Live” menu in the left sidebar, click “Domains,” then click the “Unlink Domain” button.
4. Click the “Settings” menu in the left sidebar.
5. Disable Site Deletion Protection (if enabled).
If Site Deletion Protection is enabled, it will say “YES.”
Click the “Site Deletion Protection” tab.
Once disabled, it will change to “NO.”
6. Scroll down to the “Delete Site” section at the bottom of the page
7. Click the “Delete” button.
8. Type “delete” in the input field and click the “Delete” button. As a security measure to prevent accidental deletion, you must enter the word “delete.”
As a security measure to prevent accidental deletion, you must type the word “delete.”
9. The site will be deleted.